The Newcomer: A Novel (Hardcover)

The Newcomer: A Novel Cover Image
List Price: $28.99
Our Price: $23.19
(Save: $5.80 20%)
On Our Shelves Now
On hand as of May 13 4:45am
(Fiction)

May 2021 Indie Next List


“Mary Kay Andrews knows how to put mystery and beach together to make a blockbuster novel. I know it’s really summer when a new novel by Andrews becomes available. The Newcomer is perfect for us right now. It’s got it all. I can’t wait to start hand-selling it.”
— Jean Lewis, Copperfish Books, Punta Gorda, FL

Description


Mary Kay Andrews, the New York Times bestselling author and Queen of the Beach Reads delivers her next page-turner for the summer with The Newcomer.

In trouble and on the run...

After she discovers her sister Tanya dead on the floor of her fashionable New York City townhouse, Letty Carnahan is certain she knows who did it: Tanya’s ex; sleazy real estate entrepreneur Evan Wingfield. Even in the grip of grief and panic Letty heeds her late sister’s warnings: “If anything bad happens to me—it’s Evan. Promise me you’ll take Maya and run. Promise me.”

With a trunkful of emotional baggage...

So Letty grabs her sister’s Mercedes and hits the road with her wailing four-year-old niece Maya. Letty is determined to out-run Evan and the law, but run to where? Tanya, a woman with a past shrouded in secrets, left behind a “go-bag” of cash and a big honking diamond ring—but only one clue: a faded magazine story about a sleepy mom-and-pop motel in a Florida beach town with the improbable name of Treasure Island. She sheds her old life and checks into an uncertain future at The Murmuring Surf Motel.

The No Vacancy sign is flashing & the sharks are circling...

And that’s the good news. Because The Surf, as the regulars call it, is the winter home of a close-knit flock of retirees and snowbirds who regard this odd-duck newcomer with suspicion and down-right hostility. As Letty settles into the motel’s former storage room, she tries to heal Maya’s heartache and unravel the key to her sister’s shady past, all while dodging the attention of the owner’s dangerously attractive son Joe, who just happens to be a local police detective. Can Letty find romance as well as a room at the inn—or will Joe betray her secrets and put her behind bars? With danger closing in, it’s a race to find the truth and right the wrongs of the past.

About the Author


Mary Kay Andrews is The New York Times bestselling author of The Beach House Cookbook and more than twenty novels, including The Weekenders, Ladies' Night, Spring Fever, Summer Rental, The Fixer Upper, Deep Dish, Blue Christmas, Savannah Breeze, Hissy Fit, Little Bitty Lies, and Savannah Blues. A former journalist for The Atlanta Journal Constitution, she lives in Atlanta, Georgia.

Praise For…


Praise for The Newcomer:

One of "20 New Books You Don't Want to Miss This Spring" -- Country Living

“One of the reigning queens of the beach reads delivers yet another summer stunner.”--E!News

" A new book from Andrews means the start of beach reading season, so expect demand." --Booklist

"Mary Kay Andrews is back with this perfect-for-poolside binge-reading pick."-- Country Living

“[A] made-to-order beach read”--Tampa Bay Times

“A whimsical frolic of a whodunit”--Augusta Chronicle

“This summer’s hottest read.”--Westport Magazine

"A little bit romance, a little bit suspense, and everything you’ve come to know and love from a Mary Kay Andrews story, The Newcomer is sure to be a summer favorite!" --Suspense Magazine

"A heart-racing adventure."--Woman's World

"A fast-paced, delightful roller coaster of a ride, The Newcomer takes us from a murder scene in Manhattan to a laid-back beach town on Florida's west coast, as one brave woman tries to save her young niece's life. Filled with colorful characters, rapid-fire plot twists, a simmering romance, and Mary Kay Andrews's signature wit, the latest from the reigning queen of summer will have you flipping pages at breakneck speed as you plunge into a world so well-drawn, you'll feel the sand beneath your toes and hear the murmuring surf just outside." -- Kristin Harmel, New York Times bestselling author of The Book of Lost Names


Praise for Hello, Summer:

"Andrews can be counted on for beach-worthy depictions of southern women with chutzpah and a talent for finding trouble with humor and romantic interest mixed in. Fans of Elin Hilderbrand and Kristy Woodson Harvey shouldn’t miss it." --Booklist

Hello, Summer is another gem by the always wonderful Mary Kay Andrews.” -- PopSugar

“The world of modern journalism, small town politics and relationships are brought to vibrant life by Mary Kay Andrews’ deft touch.” -- Authorlink Writers & Readers Magazine

"It isn’t Summer until the new Mary Kay Andrews book comes out. This one ties a small-town family owned newspaper with a political scandal and then morphs into a thriller. Seriously amazing!” -- Good Life Family



Product Details
ISBN: 9781250256966
ISBN-10: 1250256968
Publisher: St. Martin's Press
Publication Date: May 4th, 2021
Pages: 448
Language: English