Skip to main content
Staff Pick
The Second Chance Boutique: A Novel

The Second Chance Boutique: A Novel

Current price: $16.99
Publication Date: May 5th, 2020
Publisher:
Sourcebooks Landmark
ISBN:
9781728213682
Pages:
288

Staff Reviews

A story about love, guilt, second chances, our own pain and the pain we inherit, and how life is better if we look for little bits of magic wherever we can find them (especially if that magic is found in a vintage wedding dress, or from falling in love). THE SECOND CHANCE BOUTIQUE is a warm, ethereal book that’s a little haunting around the edges, and that reads like a modern day fairytale.

— Lucy

Description

"Utterly charming and sigh-worthy."—Josie Silver, #1 New York Times bestselling author of One Day in December

A heartwarming story about the power of the perfect dress—and the perfect love—to change your life.

Francesca Delaney has a knack for matching a bride-to-be with the wedding dress of her dreams. Her shop, The Whispering Dress, is no ordinary bridal boutique. Every gown is vintage, and the wedding dresses seem to share their stories with Francesca, pointing to which woman needs them next.

Fran credits her success to two rules: never covet a dress and never sell a dress that led to a doomed marriage. But then she finds a beautiful 1950s couture floor-length gown, and her obsession threatens win out. The owner, however, would quite like the dark past of the dress to remain hidden forever...

The Second Chance Boutique is a beach read perfect for fans of Danielle Steel and Josie Silver, promising that the romance of a wedding day can provide a second chance stronger than any dark past.

About the Author

Louisa Leaman has a degree in art history and currently writes for the V&A (Victoria and Albert Museum), researching and writing about the museum’s archived wedding dresses. It‘s the stories behind the exquisite dresses in their collection that sparked the idea for the novel. She lives in Epping Forest near London. When she isn’t busy writing or rearing three lively children, she paints portraits, goes running and spends far too long browsing in vintage clothing shops.

Praise for The Second Chance Boutique: A Novel

"I thoroughly enjoyed this... utterly charming and sigh-worthy." — Josie Silver, author of #1 New York Times bestseller One Day in December

"Leaman's debut will entrance readers who enjoy Rachel Hauck's The Wedding Dress and Lucy Dillon. " — Booklist

"A highly enjoyable read – just in time for a summer getaway to the backyard!" — All About Romance

"Those who fantasize about that perfect wedding dress and wouldn’t miss an episode of Say Yes to the Dress will enjoy." — Library Journal