Where the Crawdads Sing (Large Print / Paperback)

Staff Pick Badge
Where the Crawdads Sing Cover Image
$28.00
Not in Our Store - Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Staff Reviews


This is an awesome debut novel by a bestselling nonfiction writer and scientist, and she made the transition into fiction artfully! I loved the main character, Kya, who is a scrappy, intelligent, resilient wild girl in search of connection and her place in the world. Known by folks in the nearby town as the Marsh Girl, Kya lived in a shack in the middle of a Carolina marsh - alone by the age of nine or ten after her mom, her siblings, and finally her alcoholic dad walked away, leaving her to fend for herself. Nature is her companion, her guide, her solace. When a dead body is found in the swamp near the marsh, the Marsh Girl is suspected. I loved the details of the natural world, the whodunit suspense, and the struggle of this young girl to figure out how to best live her life.

— Cathy

August 2018 Indie Next List


Where the Crawdads Sing is a stunning and beautiful novel that readers will want to simultaneously savor and devour with every luxurious word. You’ll hear the gulls cry on the beach through these pages, you’ll see the light flickering through the marsh trees, you’ll smell the homemade grits sizzling on the stovetop. Your heart will ache for the lonely marsh girl and your wheels will start turning when a body is discovered, but you’ll never regret reading this gorgeous novel.”
— Amanda Zirn, Bethany Beach Books, Bethany Beach, DE

Description


#1 New York Times Bestseller
More than 4 million copies sold
A Reese Witherspoon x Hello Sunshine Book Club Pick

"I can't even express how much I love this book! I didn't want this story to end!"--Reese Witherspoon

"Painfully beautiful."--The New York Times Book Review

"Perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver."--Bustle

For years, rumors of the "Marsh Girl" have haunted Barkley Cove, a quiet town on the North Carolina coast. So in late 1969, when handsome Chase Andrews is found dead, the locals immediately suspect Kya Clark, the so-called Marsh Girl. But Kya is not what they say. Sensitive and intelligent, she has survived for years alone in the marsh that she calls home, finding friends in the gulls and lessons in the sand. Then the time comes when she yearns to be touched and loved. When two young men from town become intrigued by her wild beauty, Kya opens herself to a new life--until the unthinkable happens.

Perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver and Karen Russell, Where the Crawdads Sing is at once an exquisite ode to the natural world, a heartbreaking coming-of-age story, and a surprising tale of possible murder. Owens reminds us that we are forever shaped by the children we once were, and that we are all subject to the beautiful and violent secrets that nature keeps.

About the Author


Delia Owens is the coauthor of three internationally bestselling nonfiction books about her life as a wildlife scientist in Africa. She holds a BS in Zoology from the University of Georgia and a PhD in Animal Behavior from the University of California at Davis. She has won the John Burroughs Award for Nature Writing and has been published in Nature, The African Journal of Ecology, and International Wildlife, among many others. She lives in the mountains of North Carolina. Where the Crawdads Sing is her first novel.


Product Details
ISBN: 9781984827616
ISBN-10: 1984827618
Large Print: Yes
Publisher: Random House Large Print
Publication Date: August 14th, 2018
Pages: 496
Language: English