Author Simon Stephenson Virtual Event

Author and book cover image

In Partnership with The Southern Independent Booksellers Alliance (SIBA):

Let us bring authors to your living room via Zoom!  Our next author in the series is Simon Stephenson
, who will talk with us about his new novel Set My Heart to Five (buy the book here).

Here are the details you need:

  • Date: Tuesday, September 15, 2020
  • Time: 3 PM
  • Registration is required via EVENTBRITE
  • Watch: via Zoom

If you elect to attend, we will email you on morning of the event with the link and password to attend this virtual event.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Simon Stephenson is a former Pixar screenwriter and an author based in Los Angeles.

ABOUT THE BOOK

*SET TO BE A MAJOR MOTION PICTURE DIRECTED BY EDGAR WRIGHT ( SCOTT PILGRIM VS. THE WORLD )*

For fans of Fredrik Backman and Gail Honeyman, a delightfully entertaining, deceptively poignant debut novel about a humanlike bot named Jared, whose emotional awakening leads him on an unforgettable quest for connection, belonging and possibly even true love

Jared works as a dentist in small-town Michigan. His life is totally normal, except for one thing. He is a bot engineered with human DNA to look and act like a real person.

One day at a screening of a classic movie, Jared feels a strange sensation around his eyes. Everyone knows that bots can't feel emotions, but as the theater lights come on, Jared is almost certain he's crying. Confused, he decides to watch more old movies to figure out what's happening. The process leads to an emotional awakening that upends his existence. Jared, it turns out, can feel.

Overcome with a full range of emotions, and facing an imminent reset, Jared heads west, determined to forge real connections. He yearns to find his mother, the programmer who created him. He dreams of writing a screenplay that will change the world. Along the way, he might even fall in love. But a bot with feelings is a dangerous proposition, and Jared's new life could come to an end before it truly begins.

Delectably entertaining and deceptively moving, Set My Heart to Five is a profound exploration of what makes us human and a love letter to outsiders everywhere.

Event date: 
Tuesday, September 15, 2020 - 3:00pm to 3:45pm
Event address: 
Online via Zoom
Pre-Order Now Badge
Set My Heart to Five Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781335551207
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Hanover Square Press - September 1st, 2020

*SET TO BE A MAJOR MOTION PICTURE DIRECTED BY EDGAR WRIGHT (SCOTT PILGRIM VS. THE WORLD)*