Virtual Author Event: Lush Southern Fiction Reads

Event image featuring three book covers, author headshots and event information

Join three Southern fiction authors in-conversation about their newest releases!

The Sourcebooks BookLight Events series presents a Southern fiction author event with Kim Michele Richardson, Ashley Blooms, and Lo Patrick, moderated by Mary O’Malley, bookseller at Skylark Bookshop!

They will be speaking about their newest releases, The Book Woman's Daughter, Where I Can't Follow, and The Floating Girls. Copies of all authors’ books and accompanying swag will be available from Copperfish Books (one of the bookstore partners for this special event). We will have signed bookplates and other swag items to include with orders of the authors' titles.

  • The Book Woman's Daughter signed bookplates and designed journals
  • Where I Can't Follow signed bookplates, stickers, and bookmarks
  • The Floating Girls signed bookplates and designed art print

Register online via Eventbrite here

ABOUT KIM MICHELE RICHARDSON:

Kim Michele Richardson is a native-born Kentuckian who resides in Kentucky. Her works include The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek, Liar’s Bench, GodPretty in the Tobacco Field, and The Sisters of Glass FerryThe Book Woman’s Daughter is her fifth novel.

About The Book Woman's Daughter:

From the author of New York Times bestseller The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek (530,000 copies sold) comes a delightful return to the librarians and blue people of Kentucky, telling the story of Honey Lovett, the daughter of Cussy Mary and Jackson, who finds herself back in Troublesome Creek, where she takes on a library route, befriending a coal miner and a fire lookout, together three women who must find strength in their friendships and the power of books in order to overcome prejudice, isolation, and the unforgiving Appalachian landscape.

ABOUT ASHLEY BLOOMS:

Ashley Blooms has published short fiction in The Year’s Best Dark Fantasy & Horror, Fantasy & Science Fiction, Strange Horizons, and Shimmer, among others, and her essay ‘Fire in My Bones’ appeared in The Oxford American. Ashley is a graduate of the Clarion Writer's Workshop and the Tin House Winter Workshop and received her MFA as a John and Renee Grisham Fellow from the University of Mississippi. She was raised in Cutshin, Kentucky, and now lives in Berea, Kentucky. 

About Where I Can't Follow:

From the critically acclaimed author of Every Bone a Prayer comes a magical novel of a family of Southern mountain women in an age of hopelessness and helplessness, when addiction and poverty threaten to pin a person down, and struggling to love a place doesn’t always love you back.

ABOUT LO PATRICK:

Lo Patrick is a former lawyer and current novelist living in the suburbs of Atlanta. The Floating Girls is her debut.

About The Floating Girls:

For readers of Southern fiction, The Floating Girls is an immersive and atmospheric coming-of-age novel narrated by willful twelve-year-old Kay, as she and her brothers investigate their mysterious new neighbors, a kidnapping, and a possible murder—and their parents’ potential role in it.

ABOUT MARY O’MALLEY:

Mary Webber O’Malley is a writer and a Virtual Bookseller for Skylark Bookshop in Columbia, Missouri, reading and blurbing books across many genres. She is also the Author Liaison and Scheduling Producer for A Mighty Blaze, and co-host of the Blaze Boudoir. When not reading or writing, Mary and her husband love spending time with their grandchildren and tending their little suburban homestead outside Chicago, Illinois. She can be found on FB and Instagram @Blurb_Your_Enthusiasm.

Event address: 
Online
Books: 
The Book Woman's Daughter: A Novel Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781728242590
Availability: IN STOCK - On Our Shelves Now
Published: Sourcebooks Landmark - May 3rd, 2022

THE INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER!

"A powerful portrait of the courageous women who fought against ignorance, misogyny, and racial prejudice." —William Kent Krueger, New York Times bestselling author of This Tender Land and Lightning Strike


Staff Pick Badge
Where I Can't Follow: A Novel Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781728226392
Availability: IN STOCK - On Our Shelves Now
Published: Sourcebooks Landmark - February 15th, 2022

"Haunting and hopeful...a magic so vivid it feels more like a memory than a work of fiction."—Alix E. Harrow, New York Times bestselling author of The Once and Future Witches

NAMED A MOST-ANTICIPATED BOOK BY Good Housekeeping, Gizmodo, Den of Geek, Tor.com, and more!


Pre-Order Now Badge
The Floating Girls: A Novel Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781728248752
Availability: COMING SOON - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Sourcebooks Landmark - July 12th, 2022

For readers of Delia Owens's Where the Crawdads Sing and Louise Erdrich's The Round House, comes a fresh new voice in Southern fiction. A wonderfully atmospheric coming-of-age family drama told from the perspective of a feisty 12-year-old girl—reminiscent of a modern-day Scout Finch—as she unravels the secrets that threaten her entire family.