Events

We request that you RSVP for all of our events.

If you can't make an author event, find out about ordering a signed book by emailing us at copperfishbooks@comcast.net or calling (941) 205-2560.

Authors, learn about author event opportunities at Copperfish Books.

5TH Anniversary Celebration

Saturday September 30, 2017 10:00 AM - 4:00 PM

COME CELEBRATE COPPERFISH BOOKS' 5TH ANNIVERSARY!

Enjoy yummy treats and tasty mimosas!

Have fun at our coloring station for kids of all ages!

Enter drawings for:
~ A pair of tickets to the
Florida International Air Show ~
~ Free trade credit added to your bookstore account ~
~ A bag of advance reading copies of new books ~

SALE!!!
20% OFF EVERYTHING IN THE STORE!*

Select items up to 75% off

*Cannot be combined with other discounts. In-stock merchandise only.

Book Club "News of the World"

Thursday October 5, 2017

Book Selection: News of the World by Paulette Jiles

Synopsis:

In the aftermath of the Civil War, an aging itinerant news reader agrees to transport a young captive of the Kiowa back to her people in this exquisitely rendered, morally complex, multilayered novel of historical fiction from the author of Enemy Women that explores the boundaries of family, responsibility, honor, and trust.

In the wake of the Civil War, Captain Jefferson Kyle Kidd travels through northern Texas, giving live readings from newspapers to paying audiences hungry for news of the world. An elderly widower who has lived through three wars and fought in two of them, the captain enjoys his rootless, solitary existence.

In Wichita Falls, he is offered a $50 gold piece to deliver a young orphan to her relatives in San Antonio. Four years earlier, a band of Kiowa raiders killed Johanna's parents and sister; sparing the little girl, they raised her as one of their own. Recently rescued by the U.S. army, the ten-year-old has once again been torn away from the only home she knows.

Their 400-mile journey south through unsettled territory and unforgiving terrain proves difficult and at times dangerous. Johanna has forgotten the English language, tries to escape at every opportunity, throws away her shoes, and refuses to act "civilized." Yet as the miles pass, the two lonely survivors tentatively begin to trust each other, forming a bond that marks the difference between life and death in this treacherous land.

National Book Award Finalist

“A powerful, richly-realized journey. . . .Captain Kidd belongs in the pantheon of great Western characters along with True Grit’s Rooster Cogburn and Lonesome Dove’s Gus and Call.” 
– Charles Frazier, National Book Award-winning author of Cold Mountain 

“A stunning story that tore at my heart and my gut. The relationship at its core between a grizzled old man and a lost young girl digs deep into what it means to care about someone and to find your place in the world.”
– Tracy Chevalier, author of Girl with a Pearl Earring 

Paulette Jiles is a novelist, poet, and memoirist. She is the author of Cousins, a memoir, and the novels Enemy Women, Stormy Weather, The Color of LightningLighthouse Island, and News of the World. She lives on a ranch near San Antonio, TX.

-------

The book club meets at 9 am and 6 pm (you choose which time to attend). New copies of book club selections are 10% off. You do not need to attend all book club meetings to participate.

RSVP to 941-205-2560 or copperfishbooks@comcast.net.

Second Saturday Story Time

Saturday October 14, 2017

Calling all kids!

Come to our monthly children’s story time (approx. 45 mins). All are welcome. Children must be accompanied by an adult.

 If you can, please RSVP to 941-205-2560 or copperfishbooks@comcast.net

Author Martha Bireda

Tuesday October 24, 2017 6:00 PM

Join us on Tuesday, October 24 at 6 pm to hear local author Dr. Martha Bireda talk about her her novel, The Womb Rebellion (written under the pen name P. W. Long). After her talk, Dr. Bireda will be happy to sign sign copies of her books. Refreshments will be provided.

RSVP to (941) 205-2560 or copperfishbooks@comcast.net.

The Womb Rebellion is a fictionalized account of gynecological resistance to child breeding among enslaved women in the pre-Civil War era south.

The suicide of the rebellious enslaved Ruby changes both the slave quarters and the consciousness of the enslaved women; but mostly forces the enslaved midwife Pearl to face the moral dilemma involved in birthing children who will be condemned to a life of enslavement.

Martha R. Bireda, PhD, is Director of the Blanchard House Museum of African History and Culture in Punta Gorda, Florida. For over 30 years, Dr. Bireda has consulted, lectured, and written about social issues related to race, gender, class, power, and culture. She has authored several educational books as well as non-fiction titles such as Cuba Is a State of Mind, The Trabue Woods Book of Values, and Obi: Seminole Maroon Freedom Fighter. The Womb Rebellion is her first novel.

Special Book Club "Cooking for Picasso"

Wednesday November 1, 2017

All are invited to join us for a special book club as part of the Punta Gorda Visual Arts Center's 2017 Fine Arts Festival. The Festival's theme is "Inspired by Picasso," and we'll be reading Cooking for Picasso by Camille Aubray. You do not need to be a member of the VAC to participate. 

Book Selection: Cooking for Picasso by Camille Aubray

Synopsis: 

For readers of Paula McLain, Nancy Horan, and Melanie Benjamin, this captivating novel is inspired by a little-known interlude in the artist’s life.

The French Riviera, spring 1936: It’s off-season in the lovely seaside village of Juan-les-Pins, where seventeen-year-old Ondine cooks with her mother in the kitchen of their family-owned Café Paradis. A mysterious new patron who’s slipped out of Paris and is traveling under a different name has made an unusual request—to have his lunch served to him at the nearby villa he’s secretly rented, where he wishes to remain incognito.

Pablo Picasso is at a momentous crossroads in his personal and professional life—and for him, art and women are always entwined. The spirited Ondine, chafing under her family’s authority and nursing a broken heart, is just beginning to discover her own talents and appetites. Her encounter with Picasso will continue to affect her life for many decades onward, as the great artist and the talented young chef each pursue their own passions and destiny.

New York, present day: Céline, a Hollywood makeup artist who’s come home for the holidays, learns from her mother, Julie, that Grandmother Ondine once cooked for Picasso. Prompted by her mother’s enigmatic stories and the hint of more family secrets yet to be uncovered, Céline carries out Julie’s wishes and embarks on a voyage to the very town where Ondine and Picasso first met. In the lush, heady atmosphere of the Côte d’Azur, and with the help of several eccentric fellow guests attending a rigorous cooking class at her hotel, Céline discovers truths about art, culture, cuisine, and love that enable her to embrace her own future.

Featuring an array of both fictional characters and the French Riviera’s most famous historical residents, set against the breathtaking scenery of the South of France, Cooking for Picasso is a touching, delectable, and wise story, illuminating the powers of trust, money, art, and creativity in the choices that men and women make as they seek a path toward love, success, and joie de vivre.

Camille Aubray is an Edward F. Albee Foundation Fellowship winner. She was a finalist for the Pushcart Press Editors' Book Award and the Eugene O'Neill National Playwrights Conference. She studied writing at the University of London with David Hare, Tom Stoppard, and Fay Weldon; and with her mentor Margaret Atwood at the Humber College School of Creative Writing Workshop in Toronto. Aubray has been a staff writer for the daytime dramas One Life to Live and Capitol, has taught writing at New York University, and has written and produced for ABC News, PBS, and A&E. The author divides her time between Connecticut and the South of France.

-------

The book club meets at 9 am and 6 pm (you choose which time to attend). New copies of book club selections are 10% off. You do not need to attend all book club meetings to participate.

RSVP to 941-205-2560 or copperfishbooks@comcast.net.

Book Club "All the Winters After"

Tuesday November 7, 2017

Book Selection: All the Winters After by Seré Halverson

Synopsis: 

Alaska doesn't forgive mistakes.

That's what Kachemak Winkel's mother used to tell him. A lot of mistakes were made that awful day twenty years ago, when she died in a plane crash with Kache's father and brother--and Kache still feels responsible. He fled Alaska for good, but now his aunt Snag insists on his return. She admits she couldn't bring herself to check on his family's house in the woods--not even once since he's been gone.

Kache is sure the cabin has decayed into a pile of logs, but he finds smoke rising from the chimney and a mysterious Russian woman hiding from her own troubled past. Nadia has kept the house exactly the same--a haunting museum of life before the crash. And she's stayed there, afraid and utterly isolated, for ten years.

Set in the majestic, dangerous beauty of Alaska, All the Winters After is the story of two bound souls trying to free themselves, searching for family and forgiveness.

Seré Halverson is the international bestselling author of The Underside of Joy, which was published in eighteen languages. She and her husband have four grown children and live in Northern California in a house in the woods.

-------

The book club meets at 9 am and 6 pm (you choose which time to attend). New copies of book club selections are 10% off. You do not need to attend all book club meetings to participate.

RSVP to 941-205-2560 or copperfishbooks@comcast.net.