SFF Book Club

This group reads and discusses compelling and exciting science fiction and fantasy novels – some YA – from a new generation of imaginative authors. It is led by Lizy Coale, Bookseller at Copperfish Books, and meets at 6-7 pm.

Please let us know if you plan to attend. Call 941-205-2560 or email copperfishbooks@comcast.net.


May 6, 2019

This group reads and discusses compelling and exciting science fiction and fantasy novels – some YA – from a new generation of imaginative authors. 

The Reader Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780147518057
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Speak - September 5th, 2017

An instant New York Times Bestseller, this is a stunning debut set in a world where reading is unheard-of. Perfect for fans of Inkheart and Shadow and Bone

Finalist for the Kirkus Prize and nominated for the Goodreads Choice Award!


June 3, 2019

This group reads and discusses compelling and exciting science fiction and fantasy novels – some YA – from a new generation of imaginative authors. 

The Fifth Season (The Broken Earth #1) Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780316229296
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Orbit - August 4th, 2015

At the end of the world, a woman must hide her secret power and find her kidnapped daughter in this "intricate and extraordinary" Hugo Award winning novel of power, oppression, and revolution. (The New York Times)


This is the way the world ends...for the last time.

A season of endings has begun.


July 1, 2019

This group reads and discusses compelling and exciting science fiction and fantasy novels – some YA – from a new generation of imaginative authors. 

The Obelisk Gate (The Broken Earth #2) Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780316229265
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Orbit - August 16th, 2016

In this "magnificent" Hugo Award winner and NYT Notable Book, an avenger's daughter grows more powerful every day -- and her choices may destroy the world (NPR).

This is the way the world ends, for the last time.

The season of endings grows darker, as civilization fades into the long cold night.


August 5, 2019

This group reads and discusses compelling and exciting science fiction and fantasy novels – some YA – from a new generation of imaginative authors. 

The Stone Sky (The Broken Earth #3) Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780316229241
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Orbit - August 15th, 2017

Humanity will finally be saved or destroyed in the shattering conclusion to the post-apocalyptic and highly acclaimed NYT bestselling trilogy that won the Hugo Award three years in a row.

The Moon will soon return. Whether this heralds the destruction of humankind or something worse will depend on two women.


September 2, 2019

This group reads and discusses compelling and exciting science fiction and fantasy novels – some YA – from a new generation of imaginative authors. 

Witchmark (The Kingston Cycle #1) Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9781250162687
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tor.com - June 19th, 2018

A Finalist for the Nebula Award for Best Novel and the 2019 Lammy Award for best LGBTQ SF/F/Horror!

One of the best books of 2018, according to NPR, Publishers Weekly, BuzzFeed, the Chicago Review, BookPage, and the B&N Sci-Fi and Fantasy Blog.


October 7, 2019

This group reads and discusses compelling and exciting science fiction and fantasy novels – some YA – from a new generation of imaginative authors. 

Zenith (Androma Saga #1) Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9781335139733
Availability: Not in Our Store - Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Harlequin Teen - July 31st, 2018

From #1 New York Times bestselling author duo Sasha Alsberg and Lindsay Cummings comes the first book in The Androma Saga, an action-packed thrill ride of adventure, intrigue and steamy star-crossed romanceKnown across the galaxy as the Bloody Baroness, Captain Androma Racella and her motley crew of space-bound privateers roam the Mirabel


November 4, 2019

This group reads and discusses compelling and exciting science fiction and fantasy novels – some YA – from a new generation of imaginative authors. 

Dark Matter: A Novel Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9781524763244
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Broadway Books - March 27th, 2018

A mindbending, relentlessly surprising thriller from the author of the bestselling Wayward Pines trilogy.

“Are you happy with your life?”

 
Those are the last words Jason Dessen hears before the masked abductor knocks him unconscious.
 
Before he awakens to find himself strapped to a gurney, surrounded by strangers in hazmat suits.


December 2, 2019

This group reads and discusses compelling and exciting science fiction and fantasy novels – some YA – from a new generation of imaginative authors. 

All Systems Red: The Murderbot Diaries Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9780765397539
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tor.com - May 2nd, 2017

Winner: 2018 Hugo Award for Best Novella
Winner: 2018 Nebula Award for Best Novella
Winner: 2018 Alex Award
Winner: 2018 Locus Award
One of the Verge's Best Books of 2017
A New York Times and USA Today Bestseller