SFF Book Club

This group reads and discusses compelling and exciting science fiction and fantasy novels – some YA – from a new generation of imaginative authors. It is led by Lizy Coale, Bookseller at Copperfish Books, and meets at 6-7 pm.

Please let us know if you plan to attend. Call 941-205-2560 or email copperfishbooks@comcast.net.


March 4, 2019

This group reads and discusses compelling and exciting science fiction and fantasy novels – some YA – from a new generation of imaginative authors. 

The Black Witch (Black Witch Chronicles #1) Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9781335468864
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Harlequin Teen - August 7th, 2018

"Maximum suspense, unusual magic--a whole new, thrilling approach to fantasy "--Tamora Pierce, #1 New York Times bestselling author "A refreshing, powerful young adult fantasy."--Robin Hobb, New York Times bestselling author Powerful magic. A deadly legacy.


April 1, 2019

This group reads and discusses compelling and exciting science fiction and fantasy novels – some YA – from a new generation of imaginative authors. 

Artemis: A Novel Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780553448146
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Broadway Books - July 3rd, 2018

The bestselling author of The Martian returns with an irresistible new near-future thriller—a heist story set on the moon.

Jasmine Bashara never signed up to be a hero. She just wanted to get rich.
 


May 6, 2019

This group reads and discusses compelling and exciting science fiction and fantasy novels – some YA – from a new generation of imaginative authors. 

The Reader Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780147518057
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Speak - September 5th, 2017

An instant New York Times Bestseller, this is a stunning debut set in a world where reading is unheard-of. Perfect for fans of Inkheart and Shadow and Bone

Finalist for the Kirkus Prize and nominated for the Goodreads Choice Award!


June 3, 2019

This group reads and discusses compelling and exciting science fiction and fantasy novels – some YA – from a new generation of imaginative authors. 

The Fifth Season (The Broken Earth #1) Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780316229296
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Orbit - August 4th, 2015

At the end of the world, a woman must hide her secret power and find her kidnapped daughter in this "intricate and extraordinary" Hugo Award winning novel of power, oppression, and revolution. (The New York Times)


This is the way the world ends...for the last time.

A season of endings has begun.


July 1, 2019

This group reads and discusses compelling and exciting science fiction and fantasy novels – some YA – from a new generation of imaginative authors. 

The Obelisk Gate (The Broken Earth #2) Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780316229265
Availability: Not in Our Store - Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Orbit - August 16th, 2016

In this "magnificent" Hugo Award winner and NYT Notable Book, an avenger's daughter grows more powerful every day--and her choices may destroy the world. (NPR)

This is the way the world ends, for the last time.

The season of endings grows darker, as civilization fades into the long cold night.


August 5, 2019

This group reads and discusses compelling and exciting science fiction and fantasy novels – some YA – from a new generation of imaginative authors. 

The Stone Sky (The Broken Earth #3) Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780316229241
Availability: Not in Our Store - Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Orbit - August 15th, 2017

Humanity will finally be saved or destroyed in the shattering conclusion to the post-apocalyptic and highly acclaimed NYT bestselling trilogy that won the Hugo Award three years in a row.

The Moon will soon return. Whether this heralds the destruction of humankind or something worse will depend on two women.